NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipsticks.

 

NYX Liquid Suede lipsticks with a kate spade wallletI’ve been pretty dubious about the NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipsticks due to the love/hate reviews they received when they were initially released. Some people claimed they were extremely sticky, dry, flaky, and just a mess. To say I was turned off by those reviews was an understatement. I don’t know what changed for me, but I finally bit the bullet and I have no regrets.

The Liquid Suedes have very little scent, but there is something makeup-y smelling there. No worries, it fades away quickly. I imagine the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams would smell the same if you took away the powerful vanilla scent. The formula is much thinner in comparison to my much loved tarte tarteist lip paints, but I like it for different reasons. Because it’s thin, it’s easy to apply it evenly and add layers if need be. It takes longer to dry than any of my other liquid lipsticks, but they do dry down to more of a “suede” finish than matte. They aren’t transfer proof, but they also don’t move around or feather. The feeling on the lips isn’t sticky or drying as I feared. It’s more comfortable than most of my liquid lipsticks and doesn’t crack or flake.

When it came to the shade selection, I was pretty excited to see it wasn’t your generic spread of neutrals, pinks, peaches, and reds. You know me, I love a funky color. They’ve got an array of daring colors in this collection and I definitely went for it. Foul Mouth is a gray toned navy that’s beyond vampy. It’s incredibly pigmented and applies with full opacity without any streaking. I can’t wait to wear it during the fall and winter with more minimal makeup looks for ultimate impact.

I had just gotten a sky blue manicure before shopping, which might explain why I was so drawn to Little Denim Dress. It’s a vibrant sky blue that reminds me a lot of the Kylie Lip Kit in Skylie, so if you couldn’t get your hands on the limited edition shade, you might consider trying this one out. Little Denim Dress initially applies a bit streaky, but it’s easily remedied with another pass. The color is so incredibly cool and vivid. I imagine it would be perfect for festival season.

-Tara Joy

 

23 thoughts on “NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipsticks.

  1. anitasdiaries

    Those colours are insane! But I must say blue suits you 😉 I own black lipstick from NYX (macaroon lippie range?) I am not wearing it much but I like knowing I have it 😀 I don’t know where have I been and not paid attention to them, so thank you for a nice review. I need to check them out asap!

    Anita,
    http://www.anitasdiaries.com

Leave a Reply

