BareMinerals Blemish Remedy Foundation.

The BareMinerals Blemish Remedy Foundation on a mint background with a makeup brush

Even though I’m an oily skinned lady, I’ve never tried a powder foundation. There’s not any specific reason why, but I have mostly stuck to liquid and cream foundations. When I saw BareMinerals released their Blemish Remedy Foundation with the claim that 100% of women who used it experienced “significant reduction in skin oil” I couldn’t resist trying it. Oh, and it was a doozy.

The BareMinerals Blemish Remedy Foundation is a mineral-powder foundation that claims to give medium to full coverage, mask imperfections, control oil, and cover redness. Plus, it has tea tree oil and aspen bark in it to help clear your skin. I’ve had decently clear skin for a month or two now so it might sound weird that I bought something to help clear your skin, but hear me out. I figured a bit of blemish fighting power would help maintain skin clarity.

Let me start this by saying this stuff is a disaster. It has absolutely no coverage. I picked it up in the shade Clearly Medium, which clearly looked pigmented until applied. I swirled, tapped, and buffed it in like I was told to and it looked like translucent powder. For a powder to claim it covers redness, imperfections, and has medium to full coverage and then not show up at all is a complete let down. Using more product didn’t build up coverage. It controlled my oil for an hour or two before getting way, way shiny.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. “Tara, how could this suck any more?” Well, it can. This stuff broke me out like a mofo. Waking up with break outs everywhere was a bit of a shock, especially after using a product meant to help clear your skin. I wasn’t convinced it was this product that did me wrong (Although, it was the only new product in my rotation.), so I used it a few more times before packing it up and returning it. My skin is angry at me. I am angry at me for trying to make it work so many times.

-Tara Joy

33 thoughts on “BareMinerals Blemish Remedy Foundation.

  1. MakeupFavorites

    I’m sorry to hear this product didn’t work! From one oily faced lady to another, I wouldn’t give up! – Maybe on this product you should, but I would still say you should try out some other powder foundations. I couldn’t live without them.

  2. glamglowing

    What kind of brush did you use? My stepsister has this and she’s told me it’s good, but then again she could be lying as I got it for her, haha! She uses a dense brush (real techniques expert face brush) so if you’re using a fluffy brush maybe that’s why you’re not getting the coverage? But obviously this wouldn’t prevent the breakouts. I was going to get it but I’m not so sure now!

    • beausandbows

      I was also using a dense brush! I used the expert face brush, the buffing brush, and the up&up face buffer brush with no luck. The coverage was pretty non-existent. I think if you have skin sensitive to silicons, it’s best to stay away.

      -Tara Joy

  3. hoiyinli

    It’s so nice to use! It’s really therapeutic to apply and the results are actually quite natural whilst pore-minimising and most of all, I don’t feel like I’m wearing anything! I’m combo/oily skinned and I would say its oil control is good, got a bit shiny on the T-zone hours later but not an oily mess or anything.

Leave a Reply

