A Face Full of e.l.f. Cosmetics.

A photo of the e.l.f. HD Lifting Concealer in Light, Blemish Control Face Primer, Perfect Finish HD Powder, Lock on Liner and Brow Cream in Espresso, Smudge Pot in Cruisin' Chic, Contouring Blush and Bronzing Cream in St. Lucia in front of bins of makeup brushesI don’t think there’s a makeup user out there that hasn’t dabbled in some e.l.f. products.  I don’t know if it’s the extremely low prices or the basic and sleek packaging, but I’m constantly browsing the e.l.f. site for new products.  I recently had a peruse turn purchase during one of their 50% off sales and I’m happy to say I’ve come out with some winners (and maybe some duds).

 My favorite primer for quite some time has been the Smashbox Photo Finish More Than Primer Blemish Control Primer, but the $42 price tag for the full size bottle makes me cringe. I have just run out of my last mini of it and was looking for an alternative when I came across the e.l.f. Blemish Control Primer. It’s a bit thicker and stays slightly tackier than the Smashbox, but it does help my makeup last all day and it contains the same amount of salicylic acid as the Smashbox does.  I feel like it doubles as a blemish control primer and a pore filling primer because it really smooths the skin. The pump does not consistently pump out the same amount of primer, but I can get over that. So far, I’ve been loving it.

teebI’ve been super into concealer instead of a full base because my skin has actually been doing pretty well these days.  The HD Lifting Concealer is obviously meant to be used as an under eye concealer, but I don’t follow the rules (Insert sunglasses emoji here.). The shades available for this concealer are beyond minimal and a bit confusing. Fair is extremely pale, Light is about a medium skin tone, and Medium is an extremely deep tan shade. Light is actually perfect for my skin at the moment and when blended it makes my skin look incredibly perfected. When set with a proper powder it lasts for a decent amount of time (3-4 hours) and I haven’t experienced any creasing.

Speaking of a proper powder, the Perfect Finish HD Powder is not one.  It lasts about 30 minutes before completely disappearing and I find that I feel even greasier than normal once it’s gone. The other downside is although it’s meant to be translucent, it definitely adds a very obvious white cast. Buyer beware. What’s sad is that for the 30 minutes it is on, it looks incredible. My skin looks airbrushed and beyond flawless.

For a pop  of blush and bronzer, I went for the Contouring Blush and Bronzing Cream in St. Lucia. I love the powder version of these shades and I think I love the cream version of the blush more than the powder. It offers a very natural and flattering flush to the cheeks. The contour shade is a bit too warm toned for a contour, but I do like it for bronzer.

On the eyes, I went for something not so new. The Smudge Pot in Cruisin’ Chic is an old favorite and I’ve already sung its praises time and time again, but it’s perfect for a simple and pulled together eye look. To give some definition to my brows and lash line, I pulled in what is probably my favorite item from the haul, the Lock On Liner and Brow Cream in Espresso. As a liner, it’s a bit meh. It comes off as more of a soft brown than the coffee brown it appears in the pot. As a brow cream, it rocks my socks off. It rivals my love for the Anastasia Dip Brow Pomade. The lasting power is there.  It is so easy to use. The shade is perfect. I’m going to dedicate an entire post to it so more on that soon, but know I love it.

The look was finished off with my fall favorite, the Moisturizing Lipstick in Ravishing Rose.

If you’re itching for a bit more info on some of these products or even want to see me apply them, I did a full first impressions video with updates on the products through out the day.

We shall talk soon!

-Tara Joy

15 thoughts on “A Face Full of e.l.f. Cosmetics.

  1. pearly

    Looking fab! xx
    I heard of elf products a lot, they are superb. I wish they launch in country im staying in soon! As i heard of elf acne prone bb cream is awesome…ah! Want it badly 😀

      • mandibelle16

        lol. On there part their was some short sightedness when they first came to Canada about what the Canadian market would be like. Now we have just many empty target stores. I will check online, thanks for letting me know they do have a site. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

