Getting Personal – Feeling Blue | A Hair Story.


Tara smiling while her hair is blue

Hey there bow friends,

You may have recently noticed that I have upgraded my hair yet again.  I’ve been playing with my hair a lot this year and I thought we could talk about why.  A lot of it has to do with rediscovering who I am and a lot of it has to do with appreciating myself.  That might be confusing, but let me explain.

Before we get too deep, let’s back track through some of my hair color history, shall we?  Sit back, relax, and maybe play Hair by Lady Gaga in the background to get you in the zone (I’m not going to lie, this song makes me really emotional.).

Tara's Hair History

My senior year of high school I decided I wanted even darker, sleeker strands since I felt like I needed change.  I wasn’t very confident and I wanted so much to feel strong and beautiful.  I didn’t realize how influential changing my hair color was going to be on my self-confidence.  That boost of self-esteem helped me realize how much I love myself.  I am a beautiful, capable person and I can do absolutely anything.  Now that may sound ridiculous to some people, but I’m thinking it’s because you’ve never tried it.  If you you’ve never taken the leap and you want to come to the dark side, I would suggest looking into Madison Reed, a hair care company that specializes in hair dye.   They offer you the chance to tell them all about your hair and they’ll help you select the perfect shade (I love the Perugia Black shade.).  Plus, you can talk to a Colorist for some added advice.  There’s something about going darker that makes me feel like when I walk into a room, I own the place.  I think everyone deserves to feel that way.

I won’t lie, I haven’t been feeling that way recently.  If you’ve been with me the last couple months, you’ll know in December my hair had a battle with bleach for the first time.  I had my hair balayaged in preparation for my next hair transformation – going gray.  I had a hard time getting my ends to look gray and in the end, I lost the battle.  My silver ends only lasted a week or so and before you know it, I was blonde again.  I was hoping to go gray to give me some edginess.  I had lost a lot of my chutzpah and I wanted to try to get it back.  When my strands went back to blonde, I went back to sad.  I decided I needed to do more than change my hair to feel like me again and so I did a lot of work on myself.  Some months were extremely hard.  In fact, this month has been very hard, but I’m pushing forward.

I have sunk back into my depression and it’s been overwhelming.   Instead of fighting the sadness, I’m embracing it. I have willingly entered my blue period.  I find when I recognize and accept that I’m experiencing a low, it makes it easier for me to feel okay.  Now, I may have taken my blue period a little literally by dying my ends, well, blue, but much like my dark hair, it has impacted the way I feel immensely.  I feel free to feel however I want without shame or guilt.  I feel like I’ve got my spunk back.  I feel strong again.

As the years have gone by, I’ve realized how much of me goes into my hair.  It’s always been a reflection of who I am and where I am in life.  I’m a strong, fun, empowered person and I always will be.

It feels good to be able to give myself some self love and reflect on just how much I am proud of who I am.  I encourage you all to love yourself and give yourself the same opportunity.

-Tara Joy ♥

12 thoughts on “Getting Personal – Feeling Blue | A Hair Story.

  1. Micki Allen

    Well, as my grandmother would say, “I don’t know how you’re holdin’ up on the inside, but the outside looks wonderful!” Best wishes and happy thoughts being sent your way, Punkinshell. ❤

  2. nataliemint

    Don’t let yourself fall into getting comfortable with depression, it becomes really difficult to get out of it. I’m really proud of you for having the will to do at least SOMETHING to make yourself even slightly more happy. Sometimes it’s the littlest and most random things that can change our mood in an instant! Funnily enough, for me it’s a walk outside or painting my nails. Maybe it has something to do with the colours? 🙂

    Best of luck my dear, take it one day at a time!

    Kisses from the 6,
    Natalie
    htto://nataliemint.com

    • beausandbows

      Hi Natalie! Thanks for your comment and support. I’ve been experiencing symptoms of depression since I was 8 years old. Depression is a genetic commonality in my family and I go to therapy for it. Because of the nature of my depression, I need to be comfortable with the idea that it’s a part of my life and it’s going to happen. Therapy offers new coping tactics and opportunities for me to work through it.

      The hair change made me feel like a whole new little lady and I think I’m going to keep it for a long time (:

      -Tara Joy

Leave a Reply

