#MarchMatteness Jordana Modern Matte Lipsticks.

Jordana Modern Matte Lipsticks in Matte Dare and Matte It Girl

Hi there bow friends,

I’ve got another set of drugstore lip products for #MarchMatteness, the Jordana Modern Matte Lipsticks.  I haven’t found very many matte lip products that I like from the drugstore, so I’m always up to trying something new.  I have a couple of star products from Jordana like the Best Lash Extreme Mascara and the Twist and Shine in Honey Love so I had pretty high expectations for these lipsticks.

Swatches L to R - It Girl and Dare

I haven’t tried any of Jordana’s lip products before.  Apparently, they have a few other types of matte lipsticks in their range (1,2), but I’ve never seen them in store before.  The Jordana Matte Lipsticks have a good following and are said to be good lipsticks and are cheaper than the Modern Matte.  The Modern Matte lipsticks are packaged differently in clear tubes that allow you to see the shade.

I have the lipsticks in Matte It Girl and Matte Dare.  Matte Dare seemed to be the darkest in the collection and Matte It Girl looked like a muted fuschia.  Upon swatching, the Matte Dare looks much different than it does in the bullet.  Matte Dare appeared to be a cool toned plum shade in the bullet. The swatch looked like a matte version of MAC’s Rebel or Wet n Wild’s Sugar Plum Fairy, all pinky berry shades.    Matte It Girl looks like same punchy fuschia in the swatch as it does in the bullet.

These lipsticks are ones that definitely need to be worn with something on underneath or else they become extremely drying and uncomfortable to wear.  They drag an intense amount and I have heard that the application is inconsistent through out the different shades.  The shades I have do leave beautiful stains behind and wear well over time as long as there is some chapstick involved.

Overall, they aren’t the worst and they aren’t the best.  If you’re looking to experiment with some cheap matte shades, go for it.  At that price you can’t go wrong, but if you’re looking for the complete package when it comes to a matte lipstick, I think you’d be better off looking elsewhere.  My current preferred matte drugstore picks would have to be the Revlon ColorBurst Matte Balms especially the shade Shameless.

What do you all think?  Do you have any of these?  I think out of the two lip products I’ve mentioned during #MarchMatteness, I would prefer to invest in the Rimmel Show Off Lip Velvet Mattes again. I hope you’re enjoying #MarchMatteness because oh man, I think it’s pretty cool.  Next post will be up on Friday!

We shall talk soon!

-Tara Joy ♥

4 thoughts on “#MarchMatteness Jordana Modern Matte Lipsticks.

    • beausandbows

      Yup, I love those! They are the Revlon ColorBurst matte balms i mentioned in the post (: My favorite is Shameless (which I have a review of linked in this post, I believe), but i have a few other shades and I really love them. I also love matte and retromatte lipsticks by MAC. I will have a post about those up soon!

      -Tara Joy

Leave a Reply

