Smashbox Studio Skin Foundation and Giveaway Winner Announcement.

Smashbox Studio Skin in Shade 2.3

Hey there bow friends,

It seems every time that I review a foundation, I find my new favorite.  This time is not any different.  Normally I purchase things based on reviews and recommendations from you all or from some of my favorite blogs, but I was pushed to by this foundation after seeing it on Grace Helbig.  A little confusing, but let me explain. I had gone to Playlist Live 2014 and had the opportunity to meet Grace, Mamrie, and Hannah.  She was flawless and so was her skin. She was glowing without being oily or shiny and her skin was so perfected.  A few months later, she put out a July Favorites video where she finally revealed what was making her look extra magical.  The Smashbox Studio Skin 15 Hour Wear Hydrating Foundation was the key. Also, I heard being a good, funny person makes good things shoot out your face like sun beams so I’m sure she had that going for her. Smashbox Studio Skin and Sephora Face Blender brushSpotted Foundation on Tara's Face

The product comes with a pump which makes it incredibly hygienic and convenient. It comes in a sturdy glass bottle that travels really well and displays the true color of the foundation.  I was color matched to this shade in Sephora with their Color IQ apparatus and it was honestly the best color match I have had in ages.  I have Studio Skin in the shade 2.3.  I’m not sure how the shades work, but I find that this color is the perfect blend of yellow and pink. The formula is absolutely incredible.  I love most liquid foundations, but this one takes the prize because it melts into your skin and doesn’t set quickly so you have time to work with it and blend.  When it does set, it is one of the most long-lasting formulas I’ve ever used.  It’s the most comfortable and natural looking full coverage foundation I’ve ever used and I find it to be extremely blendable. Blending with the Face Blender

The girl who color matched me actually applied it with this very strange looking Sephora 134 Face Blender brush.  It’s got a dramatic cut and curve shape that works incredibly well with this product.  It was on sale the day I was matched so I decided to pick it up for curiosity’s sake.  I use the whole brush to sweep and spread product around, but I use the longer end almost to stipple product in places where I need a little more coverage.  I have a blemish by my left eye and you can see how well the application method and product covers it without bringing attention to it.

Smashbox Studio Skin Foundation Fully BlendedSkin Texture after Foundation Application

This is one of the most long-lasting foundations I’ve ever used.  Even more so than the Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Foundation.  I haven’t worn this for 15 hours, but I have for about 12 hours and let me say it’s incredible.  I think Grace had it right when she described it as a “well-trained child.”  It definitely doesn’t go anywhere.  The finish is so natural and over time it maintains a natural finish, almost working with your natural oils.  On warmer days I set it with my Palladio Rice Powder to give it a little something more, but I could honestly probably go without it.

This is my absolute favorite foundation to date and I think it’s worth the money.  You use so little and I think if you’re in the market for a good investment product, this is it.  I have oily skin, but even on drier days it doesn’t cling to any dry patches so I think this could work with all skin types.  Just go buy it, you’ll see what I mean.

By the way, the Valentine’s day giveaway has ended and I’m sure you’d love to know who won!

Julie wins!

Congratulations to Julie R.!  I have sent you an email so make sure to get to me as soon as you can so I can send you your goodies (:  Thank you all so much for entering!  I hope you enjoyed your Valentine’s day weekend and spent time with the ones you love (especially yourself).

We shall talk soon!

-Tara Joy ♥

9 thoughts on “Smashbox Studio Skin Foundation and Giveaway Winner Announcement.

  1. DIY Just Cuz Team

    I’m running out of my current foundation so I might give this one a shot next. As of late my skin has been SUPPERRRR dry in some spots though so I need to find the right one. You said this works well on drier patches, so I definitely will consider. I just hate when my makeup looks really nice in some lights or from further away and then i get close to the mirror and see dry skin 😦 Any suggestions on moisturizers? I’m using something by Olay right now but any help is appreciated! xoxo, Sam.

Leave a Reply

