A College Life for Me: Dorm Decorating.

My Sophomore Year DormHey there bow friends!

My senior year is here.  That’s scary/gross/exciting to put into words.  Considering the fact that I’ve lived in dorms for the last 3 years, I thought I’d give you some tips and insight on how to get your decorate on.

  • Make it feel like home – One thing a lot of people fresh into college don’t do is make their dorm rooms feel homey.  You will be living in this little cube for 9 months out of the year.  A space that isn’t comforting or inspiring will often cause people to become homesick (Take it from me.).   Bring photos of friends and families, decorative pillows, stuffed animals, favorite books, and anything that makes you feel happy and cozy.
  • Be fair, but be true to yourself – Having a roommate (especially one you’ve never met before) can be hard to get used to especially when it comes to decorating/arranging your room.  Analyze your space and propose ways to make the most of what you’ve got.  Your room is a shared space and should therefore be created of shared ideas between the two of you.  If you want your desk by a window, speak up, but be kind.
  • Keep it practical – Think of organizing in a vertical way in order to make the most of your space.  Most rooms are small and come with a desk, night stand, small closet, and a loftable bed.  One of my favorite things to do is slightly raise my bed so I can store things like my hamper and storage boxes.  I usually bring a small fridge (Apparently some schools give you one, check before you shop.) and keep a bin of snacks or water bottles on top.
  • A bedroom not a storage unit – You can easily over stuff your room.  It’s probably best not to bring your entire wardrobe with you for school.  Most people go home for Thanksgiving and Christmas, so think of these times as opportunities to swap out weather appropriate clothing.  Bring decorative elements like small rugs, posters, photos, fairy lights, or whatever floats your boat.  My rule for knick knacks?  If everything I want to decorate with doesn’t fit in a shoe box, it doesn’t come to school with me.  You want a homey room, not a clutter cave.

I hope that this was helpful in some way.  Are there any other elements of dorms or college life you’re wondering about?  I’d love to help.  Speaking of help, I could probably use some.  I’m currently moving into my new apartment for school and still need to unpack tons of stuff.  Time for me to spend some time organizing my life.

We shall talk soon!

-Tara Joy ❤

33 thoughts on “A College Life for Me: Dorm Decorating.

Leave a Reply

