2013 Favorites.

Hey there, bow friends!

I only wrote a handful of monthly favorites this year (oops.), but I thought I’d round this year out with some of my favorite products of the year.Skinand Body Care Favorites

Skincare this year was full of winners and new discoveries.

Origins was one of my favorite skincare brands of the entire year.  The Zero Oil face cleanser and the Ginzing Eyecream are still working perfectly for my skin and I have a good amount of each left.  The cleanser has transformed my skin completely and the under eye cream continues to make me look fresh faced and awake.

From one of my first favorites ever, I knew I loved the Yes to.. brand of face wipes.  I had been using the cucumber ones and they were eventually too harsh for me.  The blueberry ones are a million times more gentle, have a sweet, fruity scent, and actually brighten and soften the skin.  They’re great for post work out or for removing makeup when I’m feeling lazy (And yeah, I know wipes are rubbish for the skin, but when I cleanse afterward I don’t feel like I’m doing that much damage).

If there’s one thing I was in looove with this year it was The Body Shop body butters.  If you’ve had a peek at my luvocracy page, you would have seen that I recently purchased a set of mini body butters.  I don’t love any one in particular, but I think my favorites are the chocolate one and the almond one (It smells like marzipan.  Mm.)

Two (unexpected, I’m sure) skincare saviors have been the Lumene Pure Radiance Night Cream and the Soapwalla Restorative Face Serum.  I bought the Lumene night cream in the travel size for a couple dollars on a whim one day.  I planned on using it under my eyes, but one day I just thought “What the heck, why not?” and slathered it on all over.  It moisturizes and hydrates my skin along with giving it this healthy, plump look the next morning.  The Soapwalla serum is something my dad got for me on a trip back home to Brooklyn.  You guys know I have mega oily skin.  This serum actually helps balance out my oiliness as well as keep my acne at bay.  I’ll do a more in depth look at it soon, pinky promise.
Makeup FavoritesLet’s get into the makeup!  I tried bunches of new products this year and have found a couple of keepers.  The Palladio Rice Powder is perfect for creating an airbrushed look that both sets my makeup and keeps the shine away for a while.  The one downside is the container makes it really messy, but the powder is too much of a gem for me to worry about that.

The shining stars of my contour and highlight routine are the Tarte Amazonian Clay Matte Waterproof Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess and The Balm Betty-Lou Manizer.  The bronzer is perfect for contouring because it’s matte and isn’t too harsh or orange at all.  The highlight is a bronzey shimmer that creates this sun-kissed glow and brings out my non-existent cheek bones like mad.  The product is just gorgeous.

Two MAC picks have been the MAC Mystery Eyeshadow and the MAC Glamour Feast Cremeblend Blush.  Mystery is the main component to my eyebrow routine and I don’t think that will change for a long time.  Glamour Feast is just the perfect color for a rosy, healthy look.  It’s been absolutely perfect for the winter and fall.

Maybelline’s Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze and the Morrocan Oil treatment (I know, not makeup, but I had to include it.) are my daily champions.  Bad to the Bronze is my go-to everyday eye.  It brightens my eye area on it’s own and is the perfect base for any shadow.  I’ve been using Moroccan Oil for years now and it’s my secret to soft, shiny hair.  I’ve just bought another bottle (the cute travel size this time) and I can’t imagine ever not using it.

Oh man.  As if that weren’t enough products, here’s a list of runner ups!

Cover Girl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation; Clinique All About Shadow Duo in Day into DateMAC Retro Matte Lipstick in Fixed on DramaUrban Decay Naked Basics Palette; LUSH Tea Tree Toner WaterEssie Polish in e-nuf is e-nufMAC Face and Body in C4.

What are your top products of this year?  Please do recommend me some new stuff, I really love trying things out and I feel like 2014 will be the year of exploration.  I hope you guys are keeping warm and relaxing still.  I know a lot of peoples’ breaks are ending, sadly.  It’s alright though!  It’s a new fresh year and I wish you all the best of luck.

We shall talk soon!

-Tara Joy ❤

44 thoughts on “2013 Favorites.

Leave a Reply

