Beauty Exploration: The Clinique Freebie Round Up.

Hi there, bow friends!

A week or so ago I made my first purchase at Clinique for a skin care product I had been wanting (more on that later). When I realized, “Whoa. I qualify for a gift with purchase.” I got to pick from two makeup bags and chose the one with darker neutrals (You know me.). It came with a few skin care bits, but I figured I ought to give them a proper go before I talk to you all about them.

All About Shadow Duo in Day into Date; High Impact Mascara in Black; Different Lipstick in A Different Grape; Quickliner for Eyes in Dark Chocolate.
All About Shadow Duo in Day into Date; High Impact Mascara in Black; Different Lipstick in A Different Grape; Quickliner for Eyes in Dark Chocolate.

All of the makeup products are full-sized except for the deluxe sample of the mascara.  A lot of these products are in the old packaging, but I’m almost positive the formulas are the same.  HIgh-five to Clinique for an update.  From the pictures on the website the new packaging looks really nice!

swatches

Quickliner for Eyes in Dark Chocolate – I love love love brown liner.  This eyeliner is actually pretty impressive.  The name is perfectly fitting as it is a true dark chocolate shade.  It has fine, copper flecks of shimmer which brighten up the eye – very flattering.  It glides on very smoothly, but isn’t the creamiest.  I’d say it’s a more waxy texture.  I find that once the line is drawn on, it is there for good.  It’s extremely long wearing.  I’m completely impressed with the formula, but the packaging is the downfall.  Maybe I just got a lemon, but at first, I couldn’t get the product to twist up.  I finally got it to and now it won’t twist back down or up.  Once this is through, I might give the same liner in the new packaging a try.  It’s that good. For comparison’s sake, the Rimmel Scandaleyes Liner in Brown is warmer, lighter, creamier, and more red.  Both contain similar shimmer.

All About Shadow Duo in Day into Date – I was most excited for these shadows when the saleswoman told me I got a freebie.  The packaging is the same slide-out type drawer that Clinique has had for ages, but reflective.  I remember the same ones in that light, medicinal green color on my mom’s dressing table when I was a kid.  Back to the shadows.  The lighter shade seems to be a satin finish with very fine shimmer.  It’s a pinkier, light, copper shade in the pan that comes off more soft pink and warm on the lid.  The darker brown reminds me of the quickliner.  The colors are almost identical, but the shadow is a matte finish.  I think these shades are perfect together.  The lighter shade being warm, the darker being a little cooler.  I think this would be a perfect duo for a smokier daytime eye.  I think this product will be getting a lot of attention from me.

Full Face

High Impact Mascara in Black – I’ll tell you straight away I have a love/hate with this little guy.  The first time I used this I didn’t curl my lashes to see how it would perform.  I don’t have extremely curly or extremely straight lashes.  They’re pretty in between.  The first time I used this, I wasn’t very impressed.  I love volume and thickness and I felt like this did nothing but coat my lashes and lengthen slightly.  I was greatly disappointed. The second time I curled my lashes first,  Oh my.  My lashes were a bit longer and offered some (not a ton) volume.  I think it would be a nice mascara to add some oomph to really neutral, easy, daily makeup.  It didn’t flake or smudge and it held the curl very well.

Different Lipstick in A Different Grape – Ah, the shining glory of the pack.  The name threw me off from it completely, but when I saw it in the tube I was relieved.  It’s a rosy-plummy-light berry shade that is perfect for the fall.  It reminds me a bit of MAC’s Plumful.  The formulation is creamy and hydrating, but longlasting.  It offers a bit of a stain that I usually top off with balm.  It wears evenly and doesn’t seem to grab onto dry patches.  I think I’ll be looking into getting more Clinique lipsticks if they’re all as nice as this one was.

This offer was on at Dillard’s and I believe that it is still going on!  So if you’re interested, I would go have a look.  I think you have to spend $25 to qualify, but it seems to be easy to buy 1 thing and qualify as it is a little pricey.  Have you used one of these products?  What’d you think?  Do you have any Clinique suggestions for me?  I ‘d love to know.

I hope you all had a great weekend (although it was long enough ): )!  We Shall Talk soon.

-Tara Joy ❤

18 thoughts on “Beauty Exploration: The Clinique Freebie Round Up.

Leave a Reply

