Bites with Beau: Guacamole Love.

Hey there, bow friends!

Today I’ve got something a little different for you all.  As I mentioned on my beau’s birthday, he loves to cook.  I definitely caught the cooking bug when we started dating.  One of our all time favorite things to do is cook together no matter what it is.  I’ve never been well-known for something I cook, but one thing beau gets really excited for me to make is guacamole.  Truth be told, I had hated guacamole for most of forever…up until 2 years ago when I basically started living at Chipotle.  Even better, beau likes to have chipotle at least 1,047 times a week. One day, I thought I would have a crack at making some guac since it is just so freaking delectable.  I thought I would share how I do it with you all since it’s such a hit with beau.

Ingredients:

-2 Hass Avocados

-3 Tablespoons Olive Oil

-1 Whole Small Yellow Onion

-1/4 Teaspoon Rosemary

-1/2 Teaspoon Garlic Powder or Minced Fresh Garlic for Onions, 1/4 for Avocado

-1/4 Cup Chopped Cilantro

-2 Small Limes

-Salt to Taste

-Black Pepper

Avocado and Onions

First things first!  Let’s get things prepped.  I slice the absolutely scrumptious looking avocados in half and get started on chopping onions.  I slice them thin rather than dice them because-next step- 2 tablespoons of olive oil go into a sauté pan on medium heat.  Sometimes, I’ll stick the onions with the olive oil into a bowl first to coat them, but no need to dirty another dish.  The chopped onion goes into the pan with a dash of rosemary and a 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder.  This is about the time that beau will come and give the pan a good shake to coat the onions.  I cook them for about 5-6 minutes or until they become translucent.

Avocado smashWhile the onions are getting warm and cozy, I use a spoon to scoop out the avocados into a bowl, grab a fork or masher, and get to mashing.  I keep mashing away until I get a creamy lump-free consistency. Because I’ve got no fear and much love for garlic, I’ll add 1/4 teaspoon garlic to this avocado as well as 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil, and 1/4 cup of chopped cilantro.  When the onions are ready to go, they’ll get thoroughly mixed into the avocado mash.

limonLemon or limes, I’m not picky when it comes to my guacamole.  Recently we opted for limes and used 1 and a half limes worth of juice for the avocado mixture.  It really brings out the freshness of the avocado.  Lastly, a dash of black pepper, possibly some crushed red pepper flakes if I’m feeling extra vivacious, and salt to taste.  After a good stir, that is that!  I like to serve it chilled for chips or maybe salad.

Chipotle-esque Salad

My favorite thing to get at Chipotle is a salad with fajita veggies (vegetarian option- but also!  Chipotle is going to start serving tofu! Woo!) and all the fixings.  I love the honey vinaigrette they give with it, but in our own version we opted for a squeeze of lime juice with some salt.  With so much flavor from the other components, no need to over power it all. When I make guacamole we tend to put it over brown rice or quinoa (we like the black kind), beans, some kind of tomato and corn relish, and lettuce.  This time we opted for Spinach leaves and zero rice to keep it light.

Depending on our moods, we’ll add more or less of any given ingredient.  It’s up to you, really.  I’d love to add some mango or peaches to it for spring and summer time.  I love fruity additions to anything with a little kick.

Let me know if you all give it a go.  You can tell me how it went in the comments or tweet me a picture on twitter!  I’d love to see how it went.  We shall talk soon!

-Tara Joy  ❤

3 thoughts on “Bites with Beau: Guacamole Love.

    • beausandbows

      It’s really easy! I was so scared to do it. I thought I was gonna mess up or waste the avocados or something, but I mean it’s cooking, it’s like make up. It’s fun. Just go for it and experiment til you love it.

      -Tara Joy

Leave a Reply

